• Veronica Roth

    Poster Girl

    • Sale
    • Regular price $24.99


    #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth tells the story of a woman's desperate search for a missing girl after the collapse of an oppressive dystopian regime...and the dark secrets about her family and community she uncovers along the way—for fans of Anthony Marra and Lauren Beukes.

    "This is a fun, read-it-in-a-weekend novel, one that pairs well with Halloween candy, spiked cider and a smattering of neighborhood gossip. But when the time comes to hash out the details with your compatriots, you’ll find that there are plenty of heavy-bordering-on-frightening topics to consider."New York Times Book Review

    Divergent readers will find this compelling page-turner well worth reading.”—Buzzfeed

    WHAT'S RIGHT IS RIGHT.

    Sonya Kantor knows this slogan—she lived by it for most of her life. For decades, everyone in the Seattle-Portland megalopolis lived under it, as well as constant surveillance in the form of the Insight, an ocular implant that tracked every word and every action, rewarding or punishing by a rigid moral code set forth by the Delegation.

    Then there was a revolution. The Delegation fell. Its most valuable members were locked in the Aperture, a prison on the outskirts of the city. And everyone else, now free from the Insight’s monitoring, went on with their lives.

    Sonya, former poster girl for the Delegation, has been imprisoned for ten years when an old enemy comes to her with a deal: find a missing girl who was stolen from her parents by the old regime, and earn her freedom. The path Sonya takes to find the child will lead her through an unfamiliar, crooked post-Delegation world where she finds herself digging deeper into the past—and her family’s dark secrets—than she ever wanted to.

    With razor sharp prose, Poster Girl is a haunting dystopian mystery that explores the expanding role of surveillance on society—an inescapable reality that we welcome all too easily.